Tech Staff From Dolby, CW Sonderoptic, and Tiffen Receive Academy Scientific and Engineering Awards

by | Feb 9, 2015 | News | 0 comments

LogoEvery year the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences presents their Science and Technology Awards honoring technical products and innovations two weeks before the Oscars® are awarded for the best movies, actors, directors, and cinematography, et al.  This year, we are proud to announce that Technology personnel from DCS Sponsors Dolby, CW Sonderoptic and Tiffen have been honored with Scientific and Engineering Awards®

CW DCS Logo2The award to CW Sonderoptic for the Leica Summilux-C (Cine) lenses was presented to Iain Neil (optical design) and André de Winter (mechanical design) acknowledging the image quality, design, and construction of their lenses.

Tiffen2The Academy Award of Commendation plaque was presented to Steven Tiffen, Jeff Cohen and Michael Fecik for their pioneering work in developing dye-based filters that reduce IR contamination when neutral density filters are used with digital cameras.

DolbyMeanwhile, veteran sound engineer and Dolby® Laboratories executive David W. Gray received the Gordon E. Sawyer Award (an Oscar® statuette), for his individual technological contributions to the motion picture industry.  Gray’s career has encompassed the design, refinement and implementation of groundbreaking cinema sound technologies, including stereo optical soundtracks, digital sound on film and most recently, Dolby Atmos®.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Recent Posts

Archived Posts