Now Streaming: Backlot Perspectives – DCS Interviews at Cine Gear Expo 2019

by | Jun 11, 2019 | News | 0 comments

2019CineGearInterviewTitle600Taking advantage of Cine Gear Expo’s ability to draw industry professionals from around the world to the backlot at Paramount Studios, the Digital Cinema Society conducted in-depth interviews with prominent Filmmakers and Technologists.  DCS President James Mathers was able to gather a wide variety of viewpoints on current and future technology.  Interviewees include:

ASC Directors of Photography Bill Bennett and Sam Nicholson, as well as Geoff Boyle, NSC of CML and Joachim “JZ” Zell of ACES.  Vendor interviews include Michael Cioni of Panavision/Light Iron, Nils De Montgrand of DMG Lumiére, Snehal Patel of Zeiss, Marc Shipman-Mueller of ARRI, Tom Fletcher of Fujinon, Tim Smith of Canon, Mitch Gross of Panasonic Varicam, Ryan Smith of K5600, Steven Strong and Timothy Kang of Quasar Science, Tom Fletcher of Fujinon, AJ Gerth of OWC, Rich Pierceall of Cineo Lighting, Jose Flores of Core SWX, David Pringle of LuminysPat Caputo and Jordan Garretson of TRP, Tim Duff of MACCAM, Bill Meurer of Birns and Sawyer, and Jeff Stansfield of AVS.

Special thanks for our volunteer crew, which included Cinematographers Cameron Cannon, David Mahlmann, and Mitch Gulbin, as well as Christopher Scott Knell, who handled Sound and Post Workflows.  We also want to thank Rosco for providing the SoftDrop background, BB&S and Digital Sputnik for lighting assistance and Cine Gear Expo for providing the venue.  These interviews were shot on Panasonic VariCams with Fujinon Cabrio lenses and powered by Anton/Bauer.

Use this link to view all the interviews as a series:

Or go directly to any individual interviews of interest using these separate links:

Sam Nicholson, ASC:

Bill Bennett, ASC:

Marc Shipman-Mueller – ARRI:

Geoff Boyle, NSC, Founder of CML:

Snehal Patel – Zeiss:

Ryan Smith – K5600:

Michael Cioni – Panavision/Light Iron:

Joachim “JZ” Zell – ACES:

David Pringle – Luminys/SoftSun:

Rich Pierceall, Cineo:

Nils de Montgrand – DMG Lumière, a Rosco Company:

Pat Caputo and Jordan Garretson of TRP, (formerly The Rag Place):

Tom Fletcher – Fujinon Premista:

Tim Smith – Canon:

Steven Strong and Timothy Kang – Quasar Science:

Jacob Schoonover – FJ Westcott:

Jose Flores – Core SWX:

Tim Duff – MACCAM/Lighticians:

Mitch Gross – Panasonic VariCam:

AJ Gerth – OWC:

Bill Meurer – Birns and Sawyer:

Jeff Stansfield – AVS:




Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Recent Posts

Archived Posts